ANNE CARSON’S EURIPIDES Eight Takes on Trojan Women (2021) and H of H (2021)

The Bristol Poetry Institute is looking forward to this online event organized by Laura Jansen (Bristol), Mario Telò (UC Berkeley), andSarah Nooter (UChicago)

Friday, April 29th, 2022 (9am Pacific Time/ 11am Central Time/ 5pm UK Time)

Click here to book your place

Following her innovative translations of Euripides in Grief Lessons (2006) and her creative play with book form in Nox (2010) and Float (2016), Anne Carson’s recent dialogue with Euripides is amongst her boldest. Trojan Women (2021), a graphic ‘comics poem’, and H of H (2021), an ‘explosion of thought’ in the shape of a playbook with illustrations (by Rosanna Bruno) and notes, are a feast to the imagination for readers of Euripides and Carson. The event will present eight takes on the two works by poets, artists, essayists, and scholars. We aim to consider the books in relation to matters of tragedy and materiality, hybrid translation practices, the forms of the book, chimeric approaches to art, and myth and justice. The event will include a table discussion, together with an appreciation of the contribution that Anne Carson has made to the reception of Euripides in textual and visual form.

Participants

Kay Gabriel (Mount Holyoke College); Phoebe Giannisi (University of Thessaly); Laura Jansen (University of Bristol); Rebecca Kosick (University of Bristol); Sarah Nooter (The University of Chicago); Ian Rae (King’s College at Western University); Patrice Rankine (The University of Chicago); Mario Telò (University of California, Berkeley)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.